Holy Book: The Tanakh

Dear Readers of World Religion Weekly,

The Tanakh consists of three parts: the Torah, Nevi’im, and Kethuvim. Each part is further subdivided.

The Torah is divided into the books of: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. ¬†Torah translates into “Teachings, Instructions”. It covers Jewish religious history from the Earth’s creation to the death of Moses. It’s highlights include: the beginning of the universe, the flight from Egypt, the covenant with God, and the Jew’s travels and trials on the way to the promised land.

The books of Joshua, Judges, First Samuel, Second Samuel, First Kings, Second Kings, Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, and the Twelve make up the Nevi’im or Prophets.

The Kethuvim consists of the books of: Psalms, Proverbs, Job, The Five Megillot (Scrolls), Daniel, Ezra, Nehemiah, First Chronicles, and Second Chronicles.

Each book is further divided into chapters, then line numbers. This makes referencing part of the text fairly simple.

My copy of the Tanakh, the Oxford Press’s Jewish Study Bible,¬†includes annotations, essays, explanations, introductions, and more.

Thank you for reading World Religion Weekly,

Audrey Cole