The Mahabharata

Dear readers of World Religion Weekly,

This is an epic, which focuses on the story of the Bharates. It was originally passed down by word of mouth until it was transcribed in the first century C.E.

Thanks for reading,

Audrey Cole


The Puranas are post-Vedic, and they are a description of the Hindu religious history of the universe. There are seventeen or eighteen Puranas, which were further divided into the Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva Puranas.

Learn more here.

Holy Book: The Tanakh

Dear Readers of World Religion Weekly,

The Tanakh consists of three parts: the Torah, Nevi’im, and Kethuvim. Each part is further subdivided.

The Torah is divided into the books of: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. ¬†Torah translates into “Teachings, Instructions”. It covers Jewish religious history from the Earth’s creation to the death of Moses. It’s highlights include: the beginning of the universe, the flight from Egypt, the covenant with God, and the Jew’s travels and trials on the way to the promised land.

The books of Joshua, Judges, First Samuel, Second Samuel, First Kings, Second Kings, Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, and the Twelve make up the Nevi’im or Prophets.

The Kethuvim consists of the books of: Psalms, Proverbs, Job, The Five Megillot (Scrolls), Daniel, Ezra, Nehemiah, First Chronicles, and Second Chronicles.

Each book is further divided into chapters, then line numbers. This makes referencing part of the text fairly simple.

My copy of the Tanakh, the Oxford Press’s Jewish Study Bible,¬†includes annotations, essays, explanations, introductions, and more.

Thank you for reading World Religion Weekly,

Audrey Cole